Helen Stellar – a prayer to myself – 2LP

Release Date: May 23, 2006
Catalog #: VFR-2006-2
Number of Copies:

  • 500 (Black)
  • 300 (Clear – Numbered)
  • 300 (Red & Blue – Numbered)


  • The Opening Credits
  • Our Secrets
  • Don’t Look Down
  • You Glow From Within
  • Panic Attack At Breakfast
  • Flutterby
  • Io
  • Diane
  • Temporary Solutions
  • Poprís
  • Newton
  • The Motorist
  • Weightless
  • Compulsion
  • View From A Ferris Wheel
  • The Sound Of Carpet
  • Pop Song

A Side: I’m Naut What I Seem EP
B Side: Below Radar EP
C Side: The Newton EP
D Side: Unreleased Tracks including 2005 Bonus Track ‘Compulsion’


  • Here’s some pics of the four inserts and the various vinyl colors and the test pressing:

Press Release:

Helen Stellar’s dreamy, detached, post-Verve style pop is a mixture of ethereal vocals, atmospheric guitars, expressive basslines and death-from-above percussion. An expansive, mystical sound…
–Homegrown, Campus Circle, January 12, 2005

Listening to the complexity of their sound it’s hard to believe that HELEN STELLaR is only a threesome: Jim Evens on vocals and guitar, Dustin Robles on bass, and Clif Clehouse on drums. Originally hailing from Chicago, the trio is now based in Los Angeles.

In an age where style is rewarded over content, cynicism inevitably becomes second nature. Passion and originality have given way to cut-and-paste songwriting and carbon-copy imagery churned out for commercial mass consumption. All is not lost. There is a light that still shines. This is HELEN STELLaR.

Vinyl Films Records and HELEN STELLaR are proud to announce the band’s full-length debut release, a prayer to myself. The cd compiles material from all three of their self-released E.P.’s (I’m Naut What I Seem, Below Radar and Newton), a never-before released demo and a brand new recording (“Compulsion”) all on one compact disc! Includes the hit song from the Elizabethtown soundtrack, “io (this time around).”

Available at www.helenstellar.com & better record stores near you.